So your Thinking of Starting Running?

So thinking back to January I would have never dreamed that I would be running, and actually enjoying it. So back in March a new anytime fitness gym opened in my town, my friend and I joined up. Now I’ve been to gyms before, lasted a couple weeks of going regularly, not got far and given up going. 

So when I joined this new gym I decided I needed a goal, so running became my goal & I started couch25k.

Couch to 5k is a great program it has taught me to run for 25 mins so far, and I would throughly recommend it as a good place to start. I been using the couch to 5k app by nhs choices ( unfortunately I been unable to find the app since though) and it guides you through all the intervals involved to get you running up to 30 minutes at a time. 

So having been running for about 2 months I recognise that when ever you google tips for new runners you get a whole load of unfollowable rubbish by nutritionalists and personal trainers that doesn’t teach to get into and love running, now I’m not saying you shouldn’t follow this advise, you just need to have a great will power and be pretty much changing your livestyle to start on these programs, they also recommend expensive supplements and equipment too. So here are my tips for starting out running:

  • Find a goal, couch to 5k is a great places to start, or train to complete an event (race for life or a park run is a good starting goal) 
  • Find your own pace, if your training on a treadmill like me, have a plays around with the speed and find your pace, the difference of 0.1kmph can be the difference between a manageable pace and being over tired. 
  • Get the right gear: it’s doesn’t have to cost a fortune but there are certain thing a girl needs for running- a good pair of running shoes, and a decent sports bra, the rest you can improvise with but those are essential.
  • Find your focus, now once you’ve got your goal, you need a focus for each run, whether you focus on music, to or just the treadmill in front of you, if you have a focus to get you through each run you will be able to complete the runs. 

Now those are my tips and the things that have got me through the first stages of my running adventures. 

Now it’s time to go to gym!

So chow chow for now 🙂

Crackers. 

Leave a comment